Skip to main content
  • Aalto2

Welcome to NEWRAD 2014

The 12th International Conference on New Developments and Applications in Optical Radiometry (NEWRAD 2014) will be arranged by Aalto University and MIKES in Finland during 24 - 27 June, 2014. The venue is the Dipoli Congress Center in Otaniemi, located in the City of Espoo within 8 km from the center of Helsinki. Allotments are reserved in the nearby hotels and in the center of Helsinki to accommodate a large number of participants.

The NEWRAD Conference covers all aspects of optical radiation measurements and a wide range of topics will be presented during our four day program. The specific themes of NEWRAD 2014 are Earth Observation and Quantum Optics Technologies. Half-day sessions are devoted to both of these specific themes. In addition to ambitious presentation schedule, we have organized refreshing social program and excursions to the laboratories of MIKES and Aalto University that we hope to be of interest to all participants.

Aalto University and MIKES are located in the Otaniemi area which is the largest technology, innovation and business hub in the Northern Europe. Otaniemi has twice been selected by the EU as one of the most innovative regions in Europe. The area is known internationally for its leading expertise in ICT thanks to Nokia. Nowadays, Otaniemi boast Rovio's Angry Birds as its latest success story. It hosts over 100 other international companies such as Kone, Fortum, Neste Oil, Microsoft, Bayer, LG Display and Samsung. The University campus area is also architecturally unique, with buildings designed by leading Finnish architects including Alvar Aalto, Heikki and Kaija Sirén, and Reima and Raili Pietilä.

During NEWRAD 2014, sun will stay 19 hours above the horizon due to the relatively northern conference venue. I wish you all to be equally productive and have a fruitful conference experience and an enjoyable trip to Finland.

Erkki Ikonen,
Chairman of the NEWRAD Scientific Committee

Scientific Program Committee

  • Erkki Ikonen (Chairman), Aalto University and Centre for Metrology and Accreditation (MIKES), Finland
  • Errico Armandillo, European Space Agency
  • Tony Bittar, Solar Tower Systems, Germany
  • James Butler, NASA/Goddard Space Flight Center, USA
  • Nigel Fox, National Physical Laboratory, UK
  • Julian Gröbner, Physikalisch-Meteorologisches Observatorium Davos, Switzerland
  • Yoshi Ohno, National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA
  • Seung-Nam Park, Korea Research Institute of Standards and Science, Korea
  • Maria Luisa Rastello, Istituto Nazionale di Ricerca Metrologica, Italy
  • Isabelle Rüedi, World Meteorological Organization, Switzerland
  • Gerhard Ulm, Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt, Germany

  • Local Organizing Committee

  • Petri Kärhä (Chairman), Aalto University, Finland
  • Erkki Ikonen, Aalto University and Centre for Metrology and Accreditation (MIKES), Finland
  • Jan Fagerström, Aalto University, Finland
  • Hanna Tanner, Confedent, Finland
  • Tarmo Simonen, Aalto University, Finland
  • Aigar Vaigu, Aalto University, Finland

  • Conference Manager

    Programme, Accommodation, General questions

    Petri Kärhä
    Aalto University
    Visit: Otakaari 5 A, 02150 Espoo
    Mail: P.O.Box 13000, 00076 Aalto
    Tel. +358 50 596 8469

    Professional Conference Organizer

    Registration, Payments

    Confedent International Oy
    Aleksanterinkatu 44 A
    00100 Helsinki
    Tel. +358-9-5840 9350, Fax +358-9-5840 9555